Ellis R. Ott Scholarship Awards Announced

The Ellis R. Ott Governing Board recently announced scholarships for the 2019–2020 academic year have been awarded to Patricia Aubel and Kayla Reiman.

Patricia Aubel will be a statistics master’s student at the University of California, Davis, starting in the fall of 2019. She earned a bachelor’s in applied math from San Jose State University and a master’s in Global Health from the University of California, San Francisco. Aubel uses statistical and epidemiological approaches to understand the effect of policy on public health. Previously, she worked at a Stanford social psychology lab and was a fellow in the cancer and genomics lab at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. She is also passionate about teaching statistics and has worked as a community college math instructor. Aubel decided to pursue a career in applying quantitative methods to population health after studying violence prevention as an epidemiology intern at the Harvard School of Public Health.

    Kayla Reiman has been working in research and quality control since graduating from Wesleyan University in 2014, first at a small nonprofit and then in the research sector. In 2016, she became a statistical programmer at MDRC, an organization that evaluates programs serving low-income people. There, she researched financial aid interventions, created data-tracking and benchmarking tools for college staff, and co-authored a methodological paper on the generalizability of regression discontinuity designs. She is now studying applications of data analytics to public policy at Carnegie Mellon University.

    Both Aubel and Reiman will receive $7,500 to support their academic pursuits.

    Ellis R. Ott Scholarships are awarded each year to promising students of applied statistics and quality management. The scholarship program is named after Ellis Ott, a highly regarded statistical pioneer who founded the much-emulated applied and mathematical statistics program at Rutgers University and whose colleagues and students went on to leadership positions in the discipline. Since 1998, this program, under the auspices of the ASQ Statistics Division, has awarded 58 scholarships, amounting to $322,500, to foster Ott’s statistical legacy.