Biometrics Section Presents Byar, Travel Awards

Byar Award Committee Members
Dianne Finkelstein (Committee Chair, Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard University)

Jianwen Cai (The University of North Carolina)

Mike Daniels (The University of Texas at Austin)

Timothy Johnson (University of Michigan)

Guosheng Yin (The University of Hong Kong)

David Schoenfeld (Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard University)

The ASA’s Biometrics Section recently chose Kyu Ha Lee of Harvard School of Public Health as the David P. Byar Young Investigator Award winner for his paper, titled “Bayesian Semiparametric Analysis of Semi-Competing Risks Data: Estimating Readmission Rates Among Pancreatic Cancer Patients.” Co-authors are Sebastien Haneuse, Deborah Schrag, and Francesca Dominici.

The David P. Byar Young Investigator Award is given annually to a new researcher in the Biometrics Section who presents an original manuscript at the Joint Statistical Meetings (JSM). The award commemorates David Byar, a renowned biostatistician who made significant contributions to the development and application of statistical methods during his career at the National Cancer Institute. Through a comprehensive review process, the committee chose five travel award winners in addition to the Byar Award winner.

Travel Awards

Noorie Hyun, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, “Threshold-Dependent Proportional Hazards Model for Current Status Data with Biomarker Subject to Measurement Error,” with co-authors Donglin Zeng, David J. Couper, and James S. Pankow

Denis Agniel, Harvard School of Public Health, “Identifying Multiple Regulation in Semiparametric Regression Models,” with co-author Tianxi Cai

Xinyi Lin, Harvard School of Public Health, “Tests for Interactions Between a Genetic Marker Set and Environment on Generalized Linear Models,” with Seunggeun Lee, David C. Christiani, and Xihong Lin

Jesse Yenchih Hsu, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, “Calibrating Sensitivity Analysis to Observed Covariates in Observational Studies,” with co-author Dylan S. Small

Arend Voorman, University of Washington, “Graph Estimation with Joint Additive Models,” with co-authors Ali Shojaie and Daniela Witten

The Byar Award winner will receive $1,500, and the travel award winners will each receive $800 to present their papers at JSM 2013 in Montréal.

The committee was pleased with the response from 40 students and the outstanding quality of the applications.