2012 Mu Sigma Rho Statistical Education Award

Mu Sigma Rho invites academic institutions to nominate outstanding teaching faculty for the 2012 Mu Sigma Rho Statistical Education Award.

The recipient must have evidence of excellence in classroom teaching in the statistics discipline and a lifetime devotion to statistics education.

Any college or institution may nominate a potential recipient, regardless of whether the institution has an active Mu Sigma Rho chapter. Each academic institution is allowed one nomination per year. In the event that more than one nomination is received from a single institution in a year, only the first will be considered.

Each nomination should include a cover letter, the nominee’s curriculum vitae, a summary of the nominee’s teaching and educational activities, and at least three letters supporting the nomination. At least two of these letters should come from present or former students, and at least one letter should come from a colleague of the nominee. If a nominee is not selected for the 2012 award, the nomination will remain active for three years after the initial submission, unless the institution chooses to put forward another nominee.

Nominations should be sent as a PDF to Lynne Seymour at Seymour@stat.uga.edu by April 16.

The recipient of the award will be notified on or before June 1, 2012, and will be presented a plaque during the Joint Statistical Meetings in San Diego, California, to take place July 28 to August 2. Questions regarding this award can be emailed to Seymour.